Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content An Official Website of the Commonwealth of Kentucky

Division of Waste Management
Solid Waste Program

Types of Wastes

There are three types of wastes:

  • Construction and demolition debris (CDD) is material resulting from the construction, repair or demolition of structures or roads, as well as trees and other vegetation from road maintenance, storm cleanups and land clearing. This material must be nonhazardous and non-soluble. Typical wastes considered CDD are brick, concrete and lumber.
  • Solid waste is any nonhazardous discarded material resulting from industrial, commercial or household operations. It is defined by Kentucky statute in KRS 224.1-010. Special waste is specifically excepted from being solid waste.
  • Special waste is defined by KRS 224.50-760 as being a waste "of high volume and low hazard" designated to be special waste by the Energy and Environment Cabinet. The waste streams most commonly handled or disposed of at special waste facilities permitted by the Solid Waste Branch are sludge from water or wastewater treatment plants and utility wastes.